• TIME Person of the year
    Person of the Year (called Man of the Year or Woman of the Year until 1999) is an honor bestowed by the news magazine 'TIME' every year on a person, a group, an idea, or an object that "for better or for worse... has done the most to influence the events of the year"
    The tradition of selecting a "Man of the Year" began in 1927, with Time editors contemplating the news makers of the years. The idea was also an attempt to remedy the editorial embarrassment earlier that year of not having aviator Charles Lindbergh on its cover following his historic trans-Atlantic flight. By the end of the year, it was decided that a cover story featuring Lindbergh as the Man of the Year would serve both purposes
    Franklin D. Roosevelt is the only person to have received the title three times
    Wallis Simpson is the first woman to have received the title
    Mahatma Gandhi was the first non-American to have received the title
    In 1949, Winston Churchill was named "Man of the Half-Century". The December 31, 1999 issue of Time named Albert Einstein the "Person of the Century".

    List of 'TIME Person of the Year' winners
    2019Greta Thunberg
    2018The Guardians
    2017The Silence Breakers
    2016Donald Trump
    2015Angela Merkel
    2014Ebola fighters
    2013Pope Francis
    2012Barack Obama
    2011The Protester
    2010Mark Zuckerberg
    2009Ben Bernanke
    2008Barack Obama
    2007Vladimir Putin
    2005The Good Samaritans
    2004George W. Bush
    2003The American soldier
    2002The Whistleblowers
    2001Rudy Giuliani
    2000George W. Bush
    1999Jeff Bezos
    1998Bill Clinton & Ken Starr
    1997Andrew Grove
    1996David Ho
    1995Newt Gingrich
    1994Pope John Paul II
    1993The Peacemakers
    1992Bill Clinton
    1991Ted Turner
    1990George H. W. Bush
    1989Mikhail Gorbachev
    1988The Endangered Earth
    1987Mikhail Gorbachev
    1986Corazon Aquino
    1985Deng Xiaoping
    1984Peter Ueberroth
    1983Ronald Reagan & Yuri Andropov
    1982The Computer
    1981Lech Wałęsa
    1980Ronald Reagan
    1979Ruhollah Khomeini
    1978Deng Xiaoping
    1977Anwar Sadat
    1976Jimmy Carter
    1975American women
    1974King Faisal
    1973John Sirica
    1972Richard Nixon & Henry Kissinger
    1971Richard Nixon
    1970Willy Brandt
    1969The Middle Americans
    1968The Apollo 8 astronauts
    1967Lyndon B. Johnson
    1966The Inheritor
    1965William Westmoreland
    1964Lyndon B. Johnson
    1963Martin Luther King Jr.
    1962Pope John XXIII
    1961John F. Kennedy
    1960U.S. Scientists
    1959Dwight D. Eisenhower
    1958Charles de Gaulle
    1957Nikita Khrushchev
    1956The Hungarian freedom fighter
    1955Harlow Curtice
    1954John Foster Dulles
    1953Konrad Adenauer
    1952Elizabeth II
    1951Mohammad Mossadegh
    1950The American fighting-man
    1949Winston Churchill
    1948Harry S. Truman
    1947George Marshall
    1946James F. Byrnes
    1945Harry S. Truman
    1944Dwight D. Eisenhower
    1943George Marshall
    1942Joseph Stalin
    1941Franklin D. Roosevelt
    1940Winston Churchill
    1939Joseph Stalin
    1938Adolf Hitler
    1937Chiang Kai-shek & Soong May-ling
    1936Wallis Simpson
    1935Haile Selassie
    1934Franklin D. Roosevelt
    1933Hugh S. Johnson
    1932Franklin D. Roosevelt
    1931Pierre Laval
    1930Mahatma Gandhi
    1929Owen D. Young
    1928Walter Chrysler
    1927Charles Lindbergh

  • NewsGK encyclopedia